Artist: Madato
Title: Crafted
Cat. Number: IT033
Format: Digital & Vinyl
Release date: September 11, 2015

1. Last Virgin
2. Magic
3. 17 Miles
4. Make a Chick
5. My Fellini
6. Reflection
7. Leg in Plaster
8. G-Boys
9. Positive Land
10. Oh Lover
11. Ultra

It’s been just over three years since Madato dropped his well received ‘Portraits EP’ on Items & Things, after being dicovered by the label founders Magda, Marc Houle and Troy Pierce. This time around, he comes unabashed as he debuts his first true long player, ‘Crafted’.

From start to finish, the album exudes a clever boldness, as techno, disco, rock and electronica freely intertwine, creating unique, dancefloor gems. Tracks ‘Last Virgin’ and ’17 Miles’ exude a penchant for Rock’n’Roll and Dub aesthetics, combining crunchy guitar riffs and low slung bass, laid under blasts of spaced out echoes and super slick vocals. ‘Oh Lover’ and ‘My Fellini’ lean further into the realm of techno as Madato constructs finely tuned, psychedelic burners, staying true to his sound through live instrumentation. Out of all the individual concepts on the album, it’s ‘G-Boys’ that seems to incorporate all them into one fluid piece. Freaky vocals and guitar licks meet four to the floor grooves and a quivering bassline, creating a tune that is as much punk rock as it is house music.

Each individual piece stands alone on it’s own merit and authenticity, but when grouped together into a package, it is a genuinely executed and incredibly cohesive vision come to life.

Get the release on Beatport here:
Get the release on iTunes here:
Get the vinyl via Decks here:
Get the vinyl via Deejay here: